Quarter Life Crisis

Oi…it’s nearing. I’m going to be 25 in less than a month.

You would think that I’d be excited about getting one year wiser, but the fact is…that is the furthest thing from my mind. I’m so swamped with classes, shadowing, applications for Optometry school, and trying to do a frenzied and last-minute deposit of whatever information I can cram inside my head for the OAT. I guess you can say I’m a little stressed. Or maybe a lot stressed because this is a big year for me and I am so darned afraid.¬†And, at the same time, I am eager to embark on a new journey already. Ready to get on the path for optometry, ready for the overdue 1-month trip to Europe I’ve been dreaming about for the last 4 years, ready to have some stability in my lifestyle again.

Is it any wonder why people get stuck in these life crises? The present can be scary. The mundane is too real and the maybes too ambiguous. The past is secure because it can’t be changed and the future is secure in our wishful daydreaming. I’m ready to reach that point when I can feel at home with being a quarter-century old, my memories tucked behind me and my plans on the horizon.

Leave a Reply

