Tricks for Dealing with the Blues

The blues just come and go randomly.

I’d hate to write only about less-than-stellar feelings but they are a part of our lives and sometimes we just need time to ourselves to sort out thoughts that we cannot share with others. These are some tips that definitely help me and I hope they can be of help to you. They are not arranged by order of importance. I’ve listed them just based on the order that I thought them up.

1. Music – Listen to something uplifting/upbeat or mellow. (I love indie–it’s my go-to genre.) Allow it to take you to another place. Plug in your earphones, close your eyes, and try to visualize where the acoustics are resounding from. Are they moving from the left or right? What is their movement? Is it a chime, a beat of the drum, etc, in the background? When you open your eyes a few minutes later, the world seems still and a new place.

  • When I need to zone out:   Electric Feel by MGMT

2. Exercise – Take a walk, run, or workout. Exercises release endorphins, improving your mood. Also, you can relish the thought of looking good and being healthy. Catharsis. Purge yourself of the negatives.

3. Slowly fake a smile – Psychological research has shown that faking a smile and holding it for about 20 seconds helps improve your mood. Fake it ’til you make it! I also find it helps to slowly doodle smiley faces on a sheet of paper and smile as I draw the curve under the two dots.

4. Keep busy – Do something that is tactile and engages the mind. You won’t believe how fast time flies when you’re doing something you enjoy and, at the end of the day, you can give yourself a pat on the back for being productive rather than languishing around.

  • My hobbies: Drawing, making jewelry, knitting/crocheting, sewing, painting

5. Pray – I am religious, but I have my ups-and-downs and sometimes I don’t feel like talking. I’m not perfect and I have my faults as well as my attributes. I just allow my mind to wander and I end up pondering important life questions while simultaneously keeping busy with a hobby. Eventually I get to a point where I ask many “Why” questions and it brings to mind the Divine. From there, the hopes I have become my informal prayers.

6. Laugh – Watch funny videos on BuzzFeed or sit down with a friend who makes for interesting and comedically weird conversation.

7. Me-time – Take time to pamper yourself, catch up on sleep, and relax. There’s a time for everything under the sun. Try not to worry about tomorrow. Take things slow and bit-by-bit. What matters is not what you can get done today but what you can accomplish long-term. You’ll need your health, confidence, and self-respect in order to persevere. If you picture yourself on a game board with blocks for a trail, just think: I just have to get to the next step. Guess what? Those steps add up and you’ll find yourself on the other side from where you started.

Again, I hope these help. There are more great tips out there. I just haven’t found them all. ;p   What do you do to drown out the blues?

-simplytwee

Leave a Reply

