Twee time

So lately I’ve been wondering why I am feeling so tired and reluctant to get things done. Then, it occurred to me that it has been a long time since I really made any time for me-time. This new year has been hectic! And it’s only been 5 weeks! (I can digress, but I won’t.) The point is: I can’t even remember the last time I pampered myself.

So I finally took an hour out to breathe and allowed myself to feel peace. Just the small things–washing the face, exfoliating, microdermabrasion, applying lotion and serum, etc., can do wonders for your self-esteem, outlook, and overall physical well-being. (Note: Those are just my personal pick-me-ups, you’re welcome to have your own  ;P  ). You look good, you feel good, you are good.

So when you’re bogged down by all the details of life, do yourself a BIG BIG FAVOR and take a breather. Sit down, put your feet up, watch a movie, and so on. It’s counterintuitive but you actually become more efficient if you take a break from what you’re doing and go back to it at a later time. Hence, we take study breaks because we can only absorb and synthesize so much at a time.

It amazes me how often I forget to take care of myself. Even now, as I am writing, I am guilty of being a workaholic. And the consequences of being a workaholic–I am disgruntled, I am stressed, I am inefficient, I am easily fatigued, and more importantly I am unhappy. Thus, I am writing to YOU to remind you to do something that makes you happy, even if only for 10 minutes. 🙂

You can’t give the world your best if you’re operating at your less-than-optimum potential. Stress is a slugger. Valentine’s day is coming–don’t forget to give yourself some love.

Image

Took some time off from studying to play with my Japanese photo booth app. It’s so much more fun than Chem! (Yes, I eventually got back to studying some 15 minutes later. BOOOOOO!!!!)

Leave a Reply

